Devotion

This is a different perspective on some of the devotional stuff I’ve been blogging lately, so I thought I’d share!

Spiral Visions

100_4239I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the idea of devotion.  My blogging buddy Caer over at Not All Who Wander Are Lost has just finished a little series on developing a devotional practice.  The work she’s done is deep and useful, but my own explorations of this concept take me in a very different direction.

Caer acknowledges that devotion and worship are closely related words.  I’d add to that list: discipline, commitment, dedication, daily practice, reverence, piety, allegiance and loyalty.  All of these words have clear definitions and what I think of as fuzzy meanings.  They all come charged with our personal relationship with them in our daily lives, in our culture, and in our Spiritual practices.

I read a while back someone speaking about daily practice.  She said that the reason we give for not being successful is that we don’t have discipline.  She didn’t like that because…

View original post 563 more words

Leave a Reply

